A daybed with trundle is not one standardized two-person bed. One model may hide a low rolling mattress under a Twin daybed. Another may lift a second Twin to a similar height. An extension-style frame may use two mattresses across one widened bed base. A Full or Queen daybed can still pair with a smaller or unpublished trundle surface.
Before comparing style, decide whether the exact mattress arrangement, fully opened footprint, and conversion routine work for your room and guests. The stored daybed can fit neatly against a wall while the guest-night setup blocks a desk, door, drawer, or the only route through the room.
For this guide, we audited 16 model families across manufacturer, brand, retailer, and marketplace sources on September 30, 2026. We did not buy, assemble, sleep on, or independently measure these products. Where the inspected sources omitted an open dimension, the guide says Not stated instead of estimating it.
The short answer: what mattress fits a daybed with trundle?
There is no single daybed mattress answer. Separate three measurements:
- the main daybed mattress;
- the mattress or second surface stored underneath;
- the final sleeping surface after the frame is fully opened.
| Configuration | Typical product description | Final sleep arrangement | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| Twin daybed + rolling trundle | A second frame rolls out and stays low | Two separate sleeping surfaces | Exact trundle mattress size, height guidance, wheels, and floor clearance |
| Twin daybed + pop-up trundle | The lower frame rolls out and lifts | Two Twins, or a brand-labeled larger surface | Lift height, locking, center gap, final width, and whether alignment is actually stated |
| Slide-out extension | The bed base widens for a second mattress | One brand-labeled double-bed mode | Open bed-surface dimensions, mattress placement, and the rule for using the two mattresses |
| Full or Queen daybed + trundle | Larger main bed with a separate lower surface | Main Full or Queen plus model-specific trundle | Do not assume the trundle matches the main mattress size |
A Twin-to-King or King-size label is not proof of standard King dimensions, a continuous surface, or flush mattress alignment. Kodiak, for example, calls its Boho pop-up arrangement a King-size configuration or two Twins, but its inspected manufacturer page did not establish a standard 76 × 80-inch surface or publish the complete open footprint.
Score a candidate before it reaches your shortlist:
| Result | Decision rule |
|---|---|
| Pass | The exact mattresses fit, the full guest-night footprint clears the room, and the conversion works without an unplanned move. |
| Conditional | One accepted compromise remains, such as a lower second mattress or moving one chair to a defined location. |
| Fail | A required dimension is missing, the route is blocked, the surfaces do not suit the intended sleepers, or setup requires repeated improvisation. |
Write the published mattress and surface dimensions beside each candidate. Do not replace them with the words Twin, Full, Queen, or King.
Closed size is not the guest-night footprint
The stored daybed is only the daytime state. The room must also hold the trundle frame, both mattresses, bedding, and the people using them.
Draw the room twice.
Stored state
Include:
- the complete daybed frame, not only the mattress;
- arms, back panels, upholstery, and projecting hardware;
- drawers and the space required to open them;
- the desk, chair, dresser, and room door in normal use;
- curtains, radiators, vents, and other fixed constraints.
Guest-night state
Add:
- the manufacturer- or listing-published complete open footprint, when available;
- the direction and distance the trundle travels;
- wheels, legs, handles, and side rails;
- the location of bedding removed during setup;
- the door, closet, desk, and drawer positions while both surfaces are occupied;
- a route for each sleeper to enter, leave, and reach the room door.
Across the 16 model families we inspected, only 3 published a complete open furniture footprint. West Elm listed the Urban at 87 inches wide × 84.6 inches deep × 36.3 inches high with the trundle out, and the Carter at 83.5 × 85 × 41 inches with the trundle out. A Wayfair marketplace listing for an Ophelia & Co. model listed 36 inches high × 82 inches wide × 86 inches long when open.
Four additional records published an open bed-surface dimension without establishing the complete open frame footprint. Those numbers are useful for mattress planning, but they are not substitutes for the floor area occupied by rails, wheels, handles, or the surrounding frame.
For the whole-room method, use the small bedroom layout guide. This article stays focused on the daybed, trundle, mattress arrangement, and conversion zone.
Rolling, pop-up, and slide-out designs are different products
The mechanism determines what the second sleeper receives and what the household must do before bed.
Standard rolling trundle
A rolling trundle slides out and remains close to the floor. It can be practical when guests are occasional and a low second sleeping surface is acceptable.
Check the lower mattress separately. The Monte Dorma Full page lists a 74 × 40 × 7.5-inch trundle frame but specifies a 72 × 38 × 5-inch trundle mattress. The main daybed accepts a standard North American Full mattress. That leaves a Full main surface and a smaller trundle, with separate frame and mattress dimensions.
West Elm’s Urban brand page lists a Twin daybed mattress space of 75 × 40 × 5 inches and a trundle space of 72 × 38 × 5 inches. Treat the 5-inch figures as published space heights; the page does not label them as maximum mattress thicknesses.
Pop-up or lift-up trundle
A pop-up trundle rolls out and raises the lower frame. The useful questions are not merely whether it pops up, but whether it locks, reaches the same height, stays separated, or connects to the main frame.
The inspected Kodiak Boho page says the pop-up can create a King-size configuration or be used as a separate Twin. Treat that as Kodiak’s name for the arrangement until the final dimensions and alignment are confirmed. The Living Spaces Adalie listing identifies a lift-up Twin trundle and recommends a mattress height of 8 inches or less, but the listing does not distinguish whether that guidance applies separately to the main and lower surfaces.
Do not infer alignment from a staged image. Look for an explicit lock, leg, connector, or height statement.
Slide-out extension
An extension-style daybed widens the bed base rather than rolling out a separate low trundle. IKEA describes HEMNES as a sofa, single bed, double bed, and storage unit. Its brand page lists a 76.75 × 74.375-inch bed surface in the opened mode, while the complete open furniture footprint remains unpublished.
IKEA also states that HEMNES is not to be used as two single beds; it should only be used as a double bed when the bed base is pulled out. FLEKKE carries the same type of restriction. Keep the manufacturer’s operating rule instead of treating every extension bed as two independent Twins.
Connected-trundle locking
Connection and locking are separate from lift or extension style. IKEA VIHALS is a separate connected trundle, not a pop-up model. Its brand page says a safety lock keeps the connected trundle in place, but does not state that the two sleeping surfaces form one flush bed.
How much pull-out clearance does it need?
Use the complete open dimension for the exact configuration whenever the product page publishes one. Do not calculate an official open footprint by adding a mattress width to the closed frame depth.
When the complete figure is missing, mark it unresolved and collect the inputs needed for an in-room test:
- closed frame depth and width with the source label;
- trundle frame width, depth, and wheel or handle position;
- direction of travel;
- space needed to raise or unfold legs;
- wall gap required for hands, bedding, or hardware;
- open door and drawer zones;
- the route around the occupied surfaces.
Then test the room with painter’s tape:
- Mark the stored daybed outline.
- Mark the side from which the trundle must move.
- Use the published complete open footprint if available.
- If it is unavailable, mark the field unresolved and use the actual assembled frame dimensions before purchase or during an in-store test. Do not label your estimate as a product dimension.
- Open the room door, closet, dresser, and desk drawers.
- Put the desk chair where it will go at night.
- Walk from each sleeping position to the room door.
- Repeat the conversion in reverse and count every object that must move.
One Reddit poster looking for an office guest bed wanted space for two adults and considered a daybed that could expand toward a King arrangement. Another had a room with a hard furniture limit under 70 inches, where even a Twin daybed was too long. These individual cases show two different hard limits; they do not establish how common either problem is. A marketing size label still cannot replace your own room maximum.
If the daybed will share a room with daily work, use the guest room office combo guide to decide where the desk and chair belong before accepting a Conditional result.
Can two adults sleep on a daybed with trundle?
Sleeps two answers a capacity or marketing question. It does not establish that two adults will have suitable mattress length, support, access, or comfort.
Check each sleeper’s surface separately.
Mattress length and width
A trundle mattress can be shorter or specially sized. Monte specifies a 72 × 38-inch trundle mattress under its Full Dorma daybed. PBteen’s Bailey uses a specially sized trundle mattress rather than simply promising a standard Twin. Record the exact published mattress space before ordering two identical mattresses.
Mattress-height wording
Distinguish an explicit maximum from a space height or recommendation.
- IKEA VIHALS explicitly publishes a 4.75-inch maximum mattress height for the trundle.
- West Elm Urban publishes a 5-inch mattress-space height, not an explicit maximum.
- Living Spaces Adalie publishes 8 inches or less recommended, with surface scope not distinguished.
Record each statement in its original category.
Support and load wording
Record whether the page gives a capacity, a recommendation, a slat count, or no adult-use guidance.
Monte publishes 600 pounds for the daybed and 300 pounds for the trundle. West Elm calls 300 pounds for its Urban Twin beds a maximum weight recommendation that includes the mattress and occupants. Crate & Barrel lists 600 pounds total for its Bedford Queen daybed and says the mattress accommodates up to two sleepers. Use each figure only within its stated scope; none answers comfort or nightly durability.
Height, center gap, and access
For a pop-up or extension design, check:
- whether the top surfaces are level;
- whether frames lock together;
- the width and firmness of the center gap;
- whether a topper can bridge the gap without interfering with setup;
- whether fitted sheets work in both stored and open states;
- whether each adult can get out without climbing over the other;
- whether a low rolling trundle suits the sleeper’s mobility.
Frequency of use
An occasional guest setup can reasonably accept one defined step. Nightly use should not require removing several cushions, dragging furniture, rebuilding bedding, or correcting mattress alignment every evening.
For a different conversion mechanism, compare this option with the best sleeper sofa for a small space. That guide owns sofa-bed open footprints and return decisions rather than repeating them here.
Choose from the room’s strongest constraint
Do not start with a popularity list. Start with the condition most likely to make the product fail.
| Strongest constraint | Question that decides the shortlist |
|---|---|
| Narrow room | Does the complete open setup block the only walking route? |
| Office by day | Can the desk, chair, and drawers still work during guest setup? |
| Window wall | Do the back and arms clear the sill, curtain, and HVAC unit? |
| Occasional guest | Is a low rolling trundle an accepted compromise? |
| Two adults | Are both published mattress surfaces, support statements, and access routes suitable? |
| Nightly use | Is the conversion simple enough to repeat without furniture improvisation? |
| Mobility concern | Can the second sleeper rise from the lower surface and leave the room safely? |
A product can pass one use case and fail another. A low rolling trundle may preserve daytime space but be unsuitable for a guest who cannot comfortably rise from near floor level. A pop-up may improve height while creating new questions about locking and the center gap.
Seven representative configurations from the source audit
The table below is a fit audit, not a ranking. Its source labels distinguish brand pages, manufacturers, and retailer listings.
Not stated* means the inspected page did not provide that exact field. It does not mean the feature is absent.
| Product page · source type | Configuration | Stored dimensions | Open footprint (frame) / bed surface only | Mattress information | Key limitation to resolve |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Elm — Urban Daybed & Trundle · brand-listed | Rolling Twin trundle | 87 W × 47 D × 36.3 H in | Complete open: 87 W × 84.6 D × 36.3 H in | Main space 75 × 40 × 5 in; trundle space 72 × 38 × 5 in | 5 in is space height, not explicitly a maximum |
| West Elm — Carter Arched Daybed · brand-listed | Rolling Twin trundle | 83.5 W × 45.5 D × 41 H in | Complete open: 83.5 W × 85 D × 41 H in | Standard Twin; trundle space 73 × 39 × 5 in | Alignment not stated; 500-lb scope not divided by surface |
| Monte Design — Dorma Full Daybed · manufacturer-stated | Full daybed + rolling trundle | 84.5 L × 57 W in; 27-in head/foot height | Not stated* | Full main mattress; trundle mattress 72 × 38 × 5 in | Trundle frame is 74 × 40 × 7.5 in, distinct from mattress |
| Kodiak Furniture — Boho Daybed with Pop Up · manufacturer facts; dimensions/load retailer-listed | Pop-up Twin-to-King label | 80 L × 42.5 W × 38.5 H in | Not stated* | Twin + Twin | King label does not establish standard King size, continuity, or flush alignment |
| IKEA — VIHALS Day-bed with Trundle · brand-listed | Separate connected trundle | Published H 29.5 and W 40.5 in; complete stored footprint not stated* | Not stated* | Main 38.25 × 74.375 in; trundle maximum height 4.75 in | Safety lock is stated; flush alignment is not |
| IKEA — HEMNES Daybed · brand-listed | Slide-out double-bed mode | 78.375 L × 41.375 W × 32.625 H in | Bed surface 76.75 W × 74.375 L in; not complete frame footprint | 2 mattresses, each about 38.25 × 74.5 in | IKEA says use as a double bed, not two separate single beds |
| Crate & Barrel — Bedford 93-inch Daybed · brand-listed | Queen trundle daybed | 93 W × 37 D × 25 H in | Not stated* | Queen main mattress; trundle size not stated* | Up to 2 sleepers and 600 lb total do not define the second surface |
The blanks matter as much as the published numbers. Complete open footprints, alignment details, and explicit main-mattress limits were frequently absent. Leave those fields unresolved until the seller or an assembled-product check supplies them.
Fields to record for every finalist
- exact model, size, finish, and trundle option;
- source type and URL;
- stored frame dimensions with original labels;
- complete open footprint, or
not stated; - open bed-surface dimensions, kept separate from frame footprint;
- main and lower mattress dimensions;
- explicit maximum, space height, or recommended height using the source’s wording;
- rolling, lift-up, locking, and connection sequence;
- published support or load statement with its scope;
- location for displaced pillows, bedding, and furniture;
- return method and date checked.
Continue to the Sleeper Sofas & Daybeds guide for related convertible sleeping options.
FAQ
What size mattress goes on a daybed with trundle?
It depends on the exact model. Many use a Twin main mattress, but lower surfaces may use a shorter, thinner, or specially sized mattress. Full and Queen daybeds can also pair with model-specific trundles. Use the published mattress space or specified mattress dimensions for both surfaces.
Can two adults sleep on a daybed with trundle?
Possibly, but sleeps two is not enough evidence. Check both mattress lengths, published load or support wording, height difference, center gap, access, and the intended frequency of use. If one adult cannot get out without crossing the other surface, record that as a fit failure or an accepted compromise.
What is a pop-up trundle?
It is a lower frame that rolls out and lifts upward. Some pages describe a larger joined configuration, while others describe two separate Twins. Verify the lift height, lock, final surface dimensions, and whether flush alignment is explicitly stated.
Can two Twin mattresses become a King?
Only treat them as a King when the exact product publishes the final dimensions and operating method. A brand’s King-size label may describe a larger combined arrangement without proving standard King dimensions, one continuous surface, or compatible King bedding.
Is a daybed with trundle good for everyday sleeping?
It may be, but nightly use demands more evidence than occasional guest use. Check mattress guidance, support information, setup steps, bedding storage, alignment, and access. A routine that feels manageable once a month may become unnecessary friction every night.
How do I measure the pull-out space?
Start with the product’s complete open footprint when published. Mark it in the real room, then add door and drawer operation, furniture, and walking access. If a complete open footprint is missing, request it or test the assembled product; do not present a calculated estimate as a manufacturer dimension.
Final purchase checklist
Buy only after the exact configuration passes these checks:
- both mattress spaces are identified and compatible with mattresses you can actually buy;
- space heights, recommendations, and explicit maximums have not been mixed together;
- the guest-night footprint clears the desk, doors, drawers, and route to the room exit;
- a pop-up or extension has an understood lock, alignment, gap, and operating sequence;
- each adult has suitable length, support, access, and an acceptable sleeping height;
- every missing critical field has been resolved in writing or verified on the assembled product;
- the return method is acceptable for a large item if the fit test fails after delivery.
A daybed with trundle saves useful space only when the daytime footprint and the complete guest-night setup both work. If the second sleeper has no suitable mattress surface or the room stops functioning when the trundle opens, the product has stored the conflict rather than solved it.



